House of Finn Juhl

Japan Series

design Finn Juhl, 1957

Finn Juhl’s partnership with the furniture manufacturer France & Son gave birth to a series of furniture well-suited for industrial production, while staying true to the ideals of simple designs that reigned in the 1950s.


The most famous example of this cooperation is probably the Japan Series from 1957, which consists of an armchair, a footstool, a two-seater sofa and a three-seater sofa.


The sublime simplicity of this series is a far cry from this earlier furniture designs and is inspired by traditional Japanese building techniques. The solid horizontal backrest, resting on the slightly tapered legs, is a reference to a Japanese temple door. The backrest ends in a circular recess, adding an optically refined impression with great effect. That was very typical of Finn Juhl, who famously said that deviation is in the detail.


Even with this simple construction, Finn Juhl is true to his idea of emphasizing the difference between the carried and the carrying elements by separating the backrest from the bearing frame with brackets in brass. The Japan Series is produced in oak or walnut with handsewn upholstery in fabric.

Wood oak or walnut

Upholstery fabric or leather 

Seat height 35 cm – total height 78 cm – deep 70 cm  

Technical sheet

Japan Chair

W61 cm

from 2785 €

Japan 3-seater

W180 cm

from 4945 €

Japan 2-seater

W121 cm

from 3659 €

Japan footstool

W60 cm

from 1819 €

> explore fabrics and leather

soaped oak

white oiled oak

oiled oak

clear lacquered oak 

clear lacquered walnut

oiled walnut

Finn Juhl

As a teenager, Finn Juhl (1912-1989) wanted to become an art historian, having a passion for the fine arts since childhood. His father stopped him and Finn Juhl started architectural studies. Later, when his fame as a designer of furniture acquired, he speaks of himself as an autodidact, in reference to this upset vocation that forced him to walk intellectually on a lonely way. His style owes much to this singular trajectory, with its non academic interpretation of art visible in his work. Finn Juhl started his studies in 1930, a key period which saw the birth of modern design and furniture.


His modern offices in central Copenhagen was greeting his visitors with a huge Japanese fish in paper, symbol of imagination. Rather than thinking in terms of practical construction, Finn Juhl had the mind-set of a sculptor, when he shaped a piece of furniture. In the 1940s and 1950s, this way of working had never been seen before. His ambition was to design furniture with movement and life.

Juhl took pride in making both the structurally supportive elements of the furniture and the seated person look as though they are floating. In some of his chairs, the backrest and the seat are almost invisibly joined, as if they were clouds floating through the room.


In creating his furniture, Finn Juhl worked with two elements: The carrying element, and the carried. He eventually became known for his special ability to separate the bearing parts from the borne. This is one of many examples of how he broke free from conventional working methods and found his inspiration in art.

NEW

House of Finn Juhl

série Japan

design Finn Juhl, 1957

Le partenariat de Finn Juhl avec le fabricant de meubles France & Son a donné naissance à une série de meubles à la fois bien adaptés à la production industrielle et conforme à l’idéal de simplicité qui régnait dans les années 1950.


L'exemple le plus célèbre de cette coopération est probablement la série Japan de 1957, composée d'un fauteuil, d'un repose-pieds, d'un canapé deux places et d'un canapé trois places.


La simplicité sublime de cette série, assez éloignée des créations antérieures de Finn Juhl, s'inspire des techniques de construction traditionnelles japonaises. Le cadre en bois soutenant le dossier fait référence aux portes d’un temple ; reposant sur des pieds légèrement effilés, sa barre horizontale se termine par un évidement circulaire qui donne une touche de raffinement subtil. C'était très typique de Finn Juhl, convaincu que la beauté se nichait dans les détails.


Malgré sa construction simple, la série Japan respecte l’idée souvent appliquée par Finn Juhl de séparer visuellement les éléments portés des éléments porteurs, reliés par des supports en laiton. 


La série Japan est produite en chêne ou en noyer, avec un revêtement en tissu ou en cuir cousu à la main.

Bois chêne ou noyer

Revêtement tissu ou cuir 

Hauteur d’assise 35 cm – Hauteur totale 78 cm – Profondeur 70 cm  

Fiche technique

fauteuil

L61 cm

à partir de 2785 €

canapé 3 places

L180 cm

à partir de 4945 €

canapé 2 places

L121 cm

à partir de 3659 €

repose-pieds 

L60 cm

à partir de 1819 €

> explorer les tissus et cuirs

chêne savonné

chêne huilé blanchi

chêne huilé

chêne vernis 

noyer vernis 

noyer huilé

Finn Juhl

Adolescent, Finn Juhl (1912-1989) voulait devenir historien de l'art après s'être passionné pour les beaux arts dès l’enfance. Son père l'en empêcha et il entreprit des études d'architecte. Plus tard, une fois sa renommée de designer de meuble acquise, il parlera de lui-même comme d'un autodidacte, en référence certainement à cette vocation contrariée qui l'obligea à cheminer intellectuellement de manière solitaire. Son style très singulier doit  beaucoup à cette trajectoire non linéaire, avec une interprétation très peu académique de l'art visible dans son travail. Finn Juhl démarra ses études en 1930, une époque clef qui vit la naissance du design et du mobilier moderne.


Ses bureaux ultramodernes, au centre de Copenhague, accueillaient ses visiteurs avec un immense poisson en papier japonais, symbole de l'imagination. Et plutôt que d'aborder la conception de meubles sous un angle fonctionnel, à la manière classique, Finn Juhl abordait son travail à la manière d'un sculpteur. Il cherchait la beauté du volume et de la forme, la vie et l'expressivité. Une approche qui, dans les années 1940 et 1950, était totalement inédite. Pour Finn Juhl, il était évident qu'un meuble ne pouvait se limiter à une fonction, mais devait également exprimer une sensibilité artistique.


S’il reste mondialement célèbre pour son mobilier, Finn Juhl a aussi réalisé plusieurs projets d’architecture intérieure et quelques produits industriels, dont des machines à écrire IBM. Il connut son plus grand succès commercial avec la société Baker, aux Etats-Unis, qui lui permit de produire en grande série plusieurs pièces de mobilier.

En tant qu’architecte, il est connu pour l’aménagement intérieur du Conseil des Nations Unies à New York.